Thomas Green & Elizabeth Lowe

Thomas Green  was born in 1877 in Annesley, Nottinghamshire. His parents were Thomas Green & Emily Varley. Thomas was married to Elizabeth Lowe in 1899 in Basford, Nottinghamshire. Elizabeth was born in 1881 in Nottingham, Nottinghamshire. Her parents were Edward Lowe & Priscilla Gell.

They had 5 children:

    • Thomas Edward – Born 1900 in Kirkby in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire. Married Beatrice Bradbury 1919 in Basford, Nottinghamshire.
    • Ethel – Born 1902 in Kirkby in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire.
    • Walter – Born 1904 in Kirkby in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire.
    • Ernest – Born 1908 in Kirkby in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire. Married Lois Haskard 1936 in Kirkby in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire. Died 1996 in Kirkby in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire.
    • Ivy – Born 1910 in Kirkby in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire.

In the 1901 census they are living at 12 Station Street, Kirkby in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire with Elizabeth’s parents. Thomas is 24 and is a Coal Miner (Loader). He is down as son in law and his place of birth is Todds Row, Nottinghamshire (A mining community in Annesley, no longer there today). Elizabeth is 20 and has no occupation. She is also down as daughter. Thomas (Edward) is 11 months and his place of birth states East Kirkby, Nottinghamshire.

In the 1911 census they are living at 15 Lime Street, Kirkby in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire. Thomas is 34 and is a Collier Hewer. His birth place is Bleak Hall, Nottinghamshire (same as Todds Row above), Elizabeth is 30 and has no occupation. Thomas Edward is 11, Ethel is 9, Walter is 8, Ernest is 3 and Ivy is 9 months.

Thomas died in 1941 in Basford, Nottinghamshire.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jim Robinson on September 24, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    I have Thomas Green and his family in my tree, my cousin Michael Green has done a tremendous amount of research on the Green family they originate from Denby in Derbyshire,
    I only had Ernest son of Thomas on my tree but now that I have seen your post I also have the rest of the family.

    Thankyou for your research you have done a wonderfull job.
    Best regards
    Jim

    Reply

    • Hi Jim,

      I think I have spoken to you a while ago on genesreunited.com. Lovely to hear from you again. Thank you, my research is gradually coming on now. I would still like to see your cousin’s information on the Green family of Denby if he has anything I can look at. If you need anything else from me please let me know.

      Many thanks,

      Laura

      Reply

  2. Posted by Jim Robinson on September 26, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    Hi Laura,

    I have just had a look in my contacts on Genes Reunited and it was April 2009 when were last in contact and its very nice for you to reply to my post.

    I have not seen my cousin Mick since 2007 (I think) but I will be seeing him next week as my mother’s eldest sister my aunt Althea Smith (nee Green) has just died she was 99 years and 11months old. As my aunt was the last of the old family I would expect all of my cousins will be there as this will probably be the last time that we all get together.

    I did send Mick a request for you to recive a copy of his research and I also sent him your email address but if he did’nt reply to you he probably had a lot on his plate at the time as he was involed with forming the Mercian Regiment and may have forgotten about it. However I will remind him when I see him at my aunt’s funeral and hopefully get a copy sent to you.

    All the best
    Jim

    Reply

  3. Posted by Michael Green on December 2, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    Laura,

    I have spoken to Jim however for some reason I do not have your contact details. If you can email me on “mike.greem013@hotmail.co.uk” and let me know what you are looking for or if it is just what I have on the Greens of Denby I will see what I can do. However it is work in progress so it could have a few errors even after 12 years. I am now trying to make a concerted effort to finalise it especially as my aunt has now died.

    Any further details that you have on your side of Greens I would be very greatful for as I keep an index and could use them for any line diagrams, family history requests and my research.

    Best regards

    Michael Green

    Reply

  4. Posted by Michael Green on December 3, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    Laura,

    Ref my email address. It should read. “mike.green013@hotmail.co.uk” and not as shown. Sorry if I have caused you any confussion but I was working late.

    Regards.

    Mike

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

